Soft & Hardware

Info

Sonifyer is a stand-alone application for data sonification (and visualization). The software allows you to choose between, or to combine, two sonification methods: 1. audification or 2. parameter mapping (based on FM synthesis).

 

System requirements

Mac OS X 10.6

Download

 

 

Start

SonifYer always starts by creating a new project. To begin, import the data you want to work with via the File/Import menu. You can handle any number of data sets you want, with a maximum of 32 channels each, in one SonifYer project. The track window located on the right-hand side lists the different data sets; this allows you to compare them or to hold several data sets available within one project, e.g., to do a presentation.

 

Main Window

The main window contains the most important controls needed to navigate within the data sets. It is structured around a display that visualises waves in the form of oscillograms. On the top of the window you find a series of playback buttons offering common audio functions such as start, stop, beginning, end, rewind, fast forward and loop. If you select the record button, SonifYer will record all subsequent events as an audio file. The playback speed can be adjusted using the slider located between the playback buttons and the oscillogram display. The slider is continuously adjustable; alternatively, you can operate it by selecting from options offered in a menu. A lateral window offers lists from which you can select data sets, channels, markers and filters.

 

 

 

Map Window

The map window shows the distribution of the measuring points and may vary according to the data set used—i.e., EEG or seismogram. The measuring points are lit up to visualize their signal strength. In addition, you can take virtual listening tours between different measuring points with the mouse.

 

 

 

Filter Window

Each data set can have its own independent filter settings. The current SonifYer version includes a 4-band parametric equalizer. You can relate the corresponding parameters and frequencies either to the time axis of the source signal or to the time axis of the audio output.

 

 

 

Modulator Window

Mixer presets

Any project can include several presets:

- Volume control for the individual modules

- Selection of the FM presets

- Parameters of the OM module

 

FM Synthesis

The FM-synthesis module consists of one FM element with three modulators. While SonifYer provides some presets, you can also create your own settings.

 

Oscillator

Using the sine-wave oscillator you can generate an additional reference tone.

 

 

 

Bounce / Record Window

The bounce function allows you to create audio files. If you select, e.g., 10 data sets with preset In and Out markers, then audio files will be automatically generated from all data sets. If you want all of them to have the same length, loops will be played between the In and Out markers. You can chose between generating a single audio file for each data set, or one single audio file containing all data sets in sequential order.

 

© 2018 Sonifyer.org

Soft & Hardware

Info

Sonifyer ist eine Standalone-Software zur Sonifikation (und Visualisierung) von Daten. Dabei kann zwischen zwei Sonifikationstechniken gewählt, bzw. beide kombiniert werden: 1. Audifikation.; 2. Parameter Mapping (basierend auf einer FM-Synthese).

 

Systemvoraussetzungen

Mac OS X 10.6

Download

 

 

Start

Sonifyer beginnt immer mit einem neuen Projekt. Importieren Sie als erstes die Daten, mit denen Sie arbeiten wollen über das Auswahlmenü File/Import. Sie können unbegrenzt viele Datensätze mit je maximal 32 Kanälen gleichzeitig in einem Sonifyer-Projekt verwalten. An der rechten Seite (Track Window) erscheint eine Liste der verschiedene Datensätze, so können Sie diese mit einander vergleichen, oder z.B. für eine Präsentation mehrere Datensätze in einem Projekt parallel verfügbar halten.

 

Main Window

Das Hauptfenster (Main Window) enthält die wichtigsten Elemente, welche für die Navigation innerhalb der Datensätze nötig sind. Zentral steht die Darstellung der Wellenformen. Oberhalb finden sich eine Reihe von Abspieltasten mit den im Audiobereich gängigen Optionen für Play, Stop, Anfang, Ende, Zurückspulen, Vorwärtsspulen, Loop. Wird die Aufnahmeoption (Record) gewählt, so werden folgend alle Aktionen auf dem Sonifyer als Audiofile mitgeschnitten. Zwischen den Abspieltasten und der Wellenformdarstellung befindet sich der Regler für die Abspielgeschwindigkeit. Dieser kann entweder stufenlos verschoben oder über eine Auswahlliste vorgegebener Faktoren bedient werden. Im Seitenfenster finden sich die Auswahllisten für Datensätze, Kanäle, Marker und eingesetzte Filter.

 

 

 

Map Window

Je nach Datensatz - EEG oder Seismogramm - zeigt das Map Window die geografische Anordnung der Messpunkte. Die Signalstärke wird dabei durch ein Aufleuchten dargestellt. Ausserdem kann mit der Maus ein virtueller Hörrundgang zwischen den Messpunkten unternommen werden.

 

 

 

Filter Window

Jeder Datensatz kann seine eigenen Filtereinstellungen haben. Die aktuelle Sonifyerversion beinhaltet einen 4 Band Parametrischen Equalizer. Die Eckfrequenzen können dabei wahlweise fix oder an die Abspielgeschwindigkeit gebunden werden.

 

 

 

Modulator Window

Mixer Presets

Jedes Projekt kann mehrere Presets enthalten. Davon abhängig sind die Lautstärke-Regler der einzelnen Synthese-Module, und deren Parameter.

 

FM Synthese

Das FM-Synthese Modul besteht aus einem FM Objekt mit drei Modulatoren. Es gibt feste Voreinstellung, es können aber auch eigene Presets erstellt werden.

 

Oszillator

Mit dem Sinus-Oszillator kann ein zusätzlicher Referenzton erzeugt werden.

 

 

 

Bounce / Record Window

Die Bounce-Funktion ermöglicht die Erstellung von Audiodateien. Haben sie z.B. 10 Datensätze mit voreingestellten In und Out-Markern, so kann für alle Datensätze automatisch in der richtigen Auswahl eine Audio-Datei erzeugt werden. Falls alle die gleiche Länge haben sollen, wird zwischen den In und Out-Markern geloopt. Wahlweise können einzelne Audiodateien erzeugt werden pro Datensatz, oder eine einzelne welche sequenziell alle Datensätze enthält.

 

© 2017 Sonifyer.org