Sonification

In scientific practice, sonification is the acoustical counterpart to visualisation. It is a method that - following uniformly applicable rules - instead of assigning specific positions on a diagram to abstract values according to uniform rules (thus converting data into illustrations), assigns sounds to them - also following uniform rules.

 

Take radioactivity, for instance, which is commonly measured with a Geiger counter. The data yielded by this measuring device are not visualized but are made audible instead. The measurement yields a sound, whereby each click corresponds to one radioactive disintegration. From the characteristics of the sound, you can deduce the intensity of radiation, thus hearing what you cannot see.

 

Since 1992, a group of researchers have met annually at the "International Conference for Auditory Display", ICAD. In 1997, its participants agreed upon the following definition: "Sonification is the use of non-speech audio to convey information". The conference also established the current subdivision of sonification according to its three methods: audification, parameter mapping and model-based sonification.

 

 

© 2018 Sonifyer.org

Sonifikation

Sonifikation ist das akustische Pendant zur wissenschaftlichen Visualisierung. Es ist ein Verfahren, bei dem man abstrakte Datenpunkte nicht in einen Graphen einträgt, also Zahlen in Zeichnungen verwandelt, sondern ihnen nach ebenfalls einheitlich geltenden Regeln Klänge zuweist.

 

Nehmen wir ein Beispiel: Für die Messung von Radioaktivität kennt man den «Geigerzähler». Die Daten, die dieses Messgerät generiert, werden nicht visualisiert, sondern hörbar gemacht. Die Messung erzeugt ein Geräusch, jedem Knacken entspricht ein radioaktiver Zerfall. Aus dem Charakter des Klangs wird schließlich auf die Strahlungsaktivität geschlossen. Man hört, was man nicht sieht.

 

Seit 1992 trifft sich alljährlich eine Gruppe von Forschenden zur «International Conference for Auditory Display», kurz ICAD. Die Teilnehmenden einigten sich 1997 auf folgende Definition: «Sonification is the use of non-speech audio to convey information». Die Konferenz entwickelte auch die gültige Dreiteilung der Sonifikation nach ihren Methoden: Audifikation, Parameter Mapping und Model Based Sonification.

 

© 2017 Sonifyer.org